Postcard Album: Slaugham Church, Sussex

5 Sep

As I am on a bit of a GASSON theme at the moment, here is another postcard of St Mary’s Church, Slaugham.

Back in March 2011 I showed you a similar image, in black and white and perhaps slightly older, but in writing about it I said that the family connection wasn’t particularly strong. Now I know that the connections are much stronger than I imagined back then. My 4x great-grandparents were buried here, my 3x great-grandparents were married here (I did know that before) and my 2x great-grandfather was baptised here (but I already knew that).

There a caption in the bottom-left corner, but it is not particularly clear either on this digital image or the original postcard, as the red ink merges with the green grass. It is possible to make out the word “Dolphin”. That is enough to identify the publisher as Harry Tullett of Haywards Heath, Sussex.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 113 other followers

