The Census: Now it’s my turn…

11 Mar

Having spent many years look at the census it is finally my turn to fill one in. The 27th March 2011 is census day here in the UK and for the first time in my life I am going to be the head of household, although my wife might have something to say about that!

The census forms have returned, although I haven’t bothered to open the envelope yet, but I will be doing my bit on the 27th March. Of course this isn’t the first census I will be listed in (the first was 1981) and hopefully it won’t be the last just yet.

I shall do my best not to uphold the traditions of my ancestors, so I won’t be:

  • Hiding somewhere else on census night
  • Spelling my surname wrong
  • Lying about my age
  • Forgetting where I was born
  • Mixing up my first and middle names
  • Exaggerating what I do for a living
6 Responses to “The Census: Now it’s my turn…”

  1. Judy Curbow March 11, 2011 at 7:41 pm #

    LOL! Great post…..our ancestors must have known each other !

    • John Gasson March 11, 2011 at 9:46 pm #

      You, me and thousands of others I expect. Try not to be too hard on them though, I am sure they didn’t do it deliberately, well not all of them any way!

  2. mike March 11, 2011 at 8:34 pm #

    Excellent post John. Are you going to complete the census paper return or do it online. I’m doing the paper option.

    Mike

    • John Gasson March 11, 2011 at 9:42 pm #

      I think I am going to go for the paper option as well, not that I have anything against doing it online, but just because that was the way my ancestor’s did it.

  3. ros77uk March 12, 2011 at 5:07 pm #

    Hello John

    Just wanted to let you know that I have nominated your blog for the One Lovely Blog Award. Please visit my blog GenWestUK (http://www.genwestuk.blogspot.com/) for your badge and acceptance rules.

    Best wishes

    Ros Haywood

    • John Gasson March 14, 2011 at 3:29 pm #

      Thanks Ros, keep up the good work on all the transcriptions!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 117 other followers

