Death certificate of James GEERING

23 Mar

The earliest of the three death certificates I ordered this month was for James GEERING, who I believe to be my 5x great-grandfather.

James died on the 15th January 1850 in Hailsham, Sussex aged 73. His occupation was given as chemist, which agrees with the occupation given in the 1841 census. His cause of death was Chronic Bronchitis (3 years) and Influenza (3 days). His death was registered on the 19th January 1850 by James Martin of Hailsham who was present at the death.

I was hoping that the name of the informant would give me some evidence of a connection with the GEERING family in Lewes, Sussex. Unfortunately I have no James Martin in my family tree yet, but there are a couple of Martins living in Lewes with some of my relations in 1861, one of whom is identified as a grand-daughter.

The 1851 census shows 30 year old James Martin and his wife Martha living in Hailsham. He is shown as a master shoemaker and was born in Hailsham, and Martha was from Bermondsey, Surrey.

It is clear that I need to add this Martin family to my research as well now, another step towards building a community history rather than just my personal family history.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 119 other followers

