I really ought to know more of my cousins

20 Oct

It was Randy Seaver’s Saturday Night Genealogy Fun A Family’s Increase that got me thinking about my cousins, and the fact that I haven’t really been actively trying to find any.

I think I know all my first cousins and although I don’t have their details on my family tree I could add them in pretty quickly, but beyond first cousins that is pretty much it. I have had contact with more distant cousins, but in most case it was them getting in touch with me, rather than the other way around. Perhaps it is time I did something about it.

Looking at my great grandparents it seems to be a case all or nothing. Two of my grandparents were only children (although one did have three half-siblings). A third grandparent was one of only two children.

My fourth grandparent is where things swing the other way, he was one of sixteen children. I know at least one died as an infant, but that still leaves a lot and great aunts and uncles and potentially lots of second cousins to identify.

I think once I have found all my 4x great grandparents and completed my Christmas Tree Project, I will focus on tracing some living descendants of my great grandparents.

2 Responses to “I really ought to know more of my cousins”

  1. Thomas MacEntee October 20, 2009 at 10:55 pm #

    An enviable project and I think Randy Seaver’s SNGF – A Family’s Increase was an eye opener for me as well. While I know most all of my 1st cousins, I’ve lost track of the 2nd cousins, their spouses and children.

    One goal is to put together family group sheets that they can fill out and send back to me. I’ll include postage paid envelopes as an incentive as well as info on reaching me via email and my blog.

  2. John Gasson October 21, 2009 at 7:49 pm #

    That’s a useful tip about the family group sheets, I haven’t give much thought about how I am going to trace my second cousins, but that will be one way I am sure.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 113 other followers

