Filling in the gaps in my tree

8 Apr

I have been looking at my family tree recently, when I say family tree I mean the chart or diagram that shows my ancestors, and I have noticed there are one or two gaps which are making it look untidy and which I need to do something about.

A couple of things prompted me to look closely at my tree. Firstly, I wanted to put some details of my ancestors on this blog, probably starting with my 2x great grandparents, in the hope that they will catch the eye of a Googling distant cousin.

Secondly, it has now become relatively cheap to get a large family tree printed at my local print and copy shop, and I think it is about time I had something to show for my research, other than a bookcase of folders and a computer database.

Before I can do either of these I need to get my data in a presentable state. For the chart that means I would like to have names, key life events and census information (where available) for everyone back to my 3x great grandparents, it needs to be big chart so I can show off just how much work I have done!

For this blog I will probably start with my great grandparents (I think they are ready to go) and followed up a short while later by my 2x great grandparents. The 3x great grandparents will follow on several weeks later I think.

I believe I have most of the data already for my 2x great grandparents, but just not entered into my family history software. This will be a useful organising exercise, as well as highlighting any potential issues that might require a trip to a record office.

And why am I telling you all this? Well, hopefully by making a public commitment might encourage me to actually get it finished!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 118 other followers

